

Annual Council

8 May 2017

Subject: Review of the Allocation of Seats to Political Groups on Committees and Sub-Committees

Report by: Chief Executive

Contact Officer: Manjeet Gill – 01427 676500

Chief Executive

E-Mail: manjeet.gill@west-lindsey.gov.uk

Alan Robinson

Strategic Lead for Democratic and Business

Support

Alan.robinson@west-lindsey.gov.uk

01427 676509

Purpose / Summary: This report sets out the details of the political

groups on the Council, the number of members to be appointed to serve on each committee and sub-committee and the allocation to different political groups of seats on the committees and

sub-committees.

RECOMMENDATION(S):

- 1) that the details of political groups, as set out in Appendix A, be noted;
- 2) that the number of members to be appointed to serve on each committee and sub-committee be noted; and
- 3) that the allocation to different political groups of seats on committees/sub-committees, as set out in Appendix B, be noted.

IMPLICATIONS

Legal: None directly arising as a result of this report.								
Financial: None directly arising as a result of this report.								
Staffing: None directly arising as a result of this report.								
Equality a	nd Divers	ity including Huma	n Rights :					
Risk Asse	ssment :	N/A						
Climate Re	elated Ris	ks and Opportuniti	es: N/A					
Background Papers : The following background papers were used in the preparation of this report. If none were used then please state.								
Title:			Location of Background Papers:					
Call in and	l Urgency							
Call in and Urgency: Is the decision one which Rule 14 of the Scrutiny Procedure Rules apply?								
Yes			No	X				
Key Decis	ion:				1			
Yes			No	X				

1. Introduction

- 1.1 In accordance with the provisions of Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council is required to review the allocation to different political groups of seats on committees and sub-committees.
- 1.2 Existing political groups for the purposes of the Local Government (Committees & Political Groups) Regulations 1990 are as follows:

Group	No.	Leader/Spokesperson	Deputy Leaders
Conservative Group	24	Cllr J Summers	Cllr O Bierley
Liberal Democrat Group	7	Cllr R Shore	Cllr D Cotton
Labour	3	Cllr M Devine	

- 1.3 Councillor Mrs D M Rodgers, Independent, is not aligned to any Group, and Councillor C Darcel, Lincolnshire Independent, is not aligned to any Group.
- 1.4 The Council has delegated authority to the Chief Executive to agree, following consultation with the Group Leaders, the overall allocation of seats to groups resulting from the application of rounding.
- 1.5 Full details of membership are set out in Appendix A.

2. The Allocations

- 2.1 In accordance with the provisions of section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 (Duty to allocate seats to political groups), the Council is required to give effect, so far as reasonably practicable, to the following specified principles:
 - (a) that not all the seats on a committee/sub-committee are allocated to the same political group;
 - (b) that the majority of the seats on a committee/sub-committee are allocated to a particular political group where the number of persons belonging to that group is a majority of the authority's membership;
 - (c) subject to paragraphs (a) and (b) above, that the number of seats on the ordinary committees which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the total of all the seats on the ordinary committees of that authority as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority;

- (d) subject to paragraphs (a) to (c) above, that the number of seats on the committee/sub-committee which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the number of all the seats on that committee/sub-committee as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority.
- 2.2 (b) above applies as there is a group with a majority of seats on the Council.
- 2.3 In order to give effect, so far as is reasonably practicable, to the principles specified above and in consultation with group leaders as required by the delegation, it has been determined that the best fit to meet the political balance rules is for the Planning Committee, Prosperous Communities Committee, Corporate Policy and Resources, Licensing, Regulatory Challenge and Improvement to comprise 12 Members, for Governance and Audit to comprise 6 Members, and Chief Officer Employment and the Taxi and General Licensing Sub-Committee to comprise 9 Members. The allocations have been calculated on this basis.

Note: Legally, committees cannot exceed 15 members and sub-committees 10 members.

Note: Further to the Annual Review of the Constitution, it is suggested that the same 12 Members comprise both the Licensing Committee and the Regulatory Committee.

- 2.4 All of the group leaders agree with the number of members appointed to serve on the committees/sub-committees.
- 2.5 Applying group numbers to the seats available on the committees and subcommittees gives the allocation set out in Appendix B, which is supported by the group leaders as the most reasonably practical in the circumstances.

APPENDIX A

Local Government & Housing Act 1989 The Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990

Political Groups on the District Council - May 2015

Conservative Group (24 Councillors)

Councillor Mrs G F Bardsley

Councillor S Bibb

Councillor O C Bierley

Councillor A Bridgwood

Councillor Mrs J Brockway

Councillor S Curtis

Councillor A Duguid

Councillor S England

Councillor I G Fleetwood

Councillor P Howitt-Cowan

Councillor S F Kinch

Councillor Mrs A T Lawrence

Councillor H Marfleet

Councillor G McNeill

Councillor J McNeill

Councillor Mrs P Mewis

Councillor Mrs J Milne

Councillor M J W Parish

Councillor R M Patterson

Councillor T Regis

Councillor T Smith

Councillor C L Strange

Councillor J J Summers

Councillor Mrs A Welburn

Labour Group (3 Councillors)

Councillor D Bond

Councillor M Devine

Councillor R Oaks

Liberal Democrat Group (7 Councillors)

Councillor M Boles

Councillor D J Cotton

Councillor Mrs J A Rainsforth

Councillor Mrs. L. A. Rollings

Councillor R A Shore

Councillor A White

Councillor T V Young

Independent Member (1 Councillor)

Councillor Mrs D M Rodgers

Lincolnshire Independent Member (1 Councillor)

Councillor C J Darcel

APPENDIX B

TABLE 1

	Cons	Lib Dem	Lab	Ind Mbr (1)	Ind Mbr (2)	Total
Prosperous Communities (12)	8	2	1	1	0	12
Corporate Policy and Resources (12)	8	3	1	0	0	12
Governance and Audit (6)	4	1	1	0	0	6
Planning (12)	8	3	1	0	0	12
Chief Officer Employment (9)	6	2	1	0	0	9
Total no. of seats (51)	34	10	5	1	1	51
As a %	66.67	19.61	9.80	1.96	1.96	100

NOTES: This would meet the criteria with the Conservatives having a majority on each Committee, followed by the Liberal Democrats having the next largest proportion and so on.

TABLE 2

	Cons	Lib Dem	Lab	Ind Mbr (1)	Ind Mbr (2)	Total
Challenge and Improvement (12)	8	2	1	0	1	12
Total no of seats as a %	66.67	16.67	8.33	0	8.33	100

TABLE 3

	Cons	Lib Dem	Lab	Ind Mbr (1)	Ind Mbr (2)	Total
Licensing Committee (12)	8	2	1	1	0	12
Regulatory Committee (12) same as above	8	2	1	1	0	12
Total no of seats as a %	66.67	16.67	8.33	8.33	0	100